Skip to content

Hi folks!

February 6, 2012

Welcome to the inaugural post of Biolojoie de Vivre, a blog about science, nature, and bad puns. I think the natural world is simply amazing, and I want you to think so, too! As a scientist, I love knowing the level of detail found in published papers, but I know that a non-expert reader does not want to wade through this minutiae. I will be bringing you, Dear Reader, synopses of cutting-edge research that I think is cool. That being said, I would love any suggestions you might make – feel free to email me about that-creature-you-saw-on-Discovery Channel and I will try to work it into a post.

The first posts I am going to write will be a microbiome trilogy. The microbiome is the whole population of single-celled microbes that live on and in you – which, by the way, are 10 times more numerous than your OWN cells! As a scientific community, we are just starting to appreciate the incredible impact of the microbiome on our well-being; these “wee beasties” don’t just cause disease! In fact, they can cause or alleviate digestive issues, allergies, and even depression and anxiety. I hope the idea that bacteria in your intestines can affect your mental health made you sit up and say, “whaaaa?” because there’s more where that came from.

So, stay tuned for more adventures in biology!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ben permalink
    February 6, 2012 6:57 pm

    FIRST ?!?!?1111111oneoneone

  2. Suze permalink
    February 6, 2012 8:04 pm

    SPLENDID!

    BTW – I like rocket science . . .

  3. Jody Harwood permalink
    February 6, 2012 9:55 pm

    Can’t wait for more!

  4. Kate permalink
    February 7, 2012 4:04 pm

    I can’t wait to hear about the microbiomes that affect mental health. I am looking for research opportunities…point me in the right direction if you hear about anything. xoxo

    • February 7, 2012 4:18 pm

      What area do you want to work in? I must say, the whole microbiome field is really taking off and microbiology skills will never be useless. I can send you some relevant papers now if you want, or you can wait to have me cover them. 🙂

  5. Tommo permalink
    February 7, 2012 7:21 pm

    I want to know more about them glowin’ kitties.

What do you think? Share your thoughts!

